About us

In April 2021 after a long period of collaborative working, Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust (BSUH) merged with Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (WSHT) to form University Hospitals Sussex NHS Foundation Trust (UHSussex).

UHSussex NHS Foundation Trust provides outstanding care to the people of West Sussex, Brighton and Hove and parts of East Sussex. As one of the largest acute Trusts in the UK, our seven hospitals host more than 1.5 million outpatient appointments, A&E visits, and surgery cases every year and we employ nearly 20,000 staff.

We run seven hospitals across Chichester, Worthing, Shoreham, Brighton and Haywards Heath:

  • Royal Sussex County Hospital, Brighton (RSCH)
  • Princess Royal Hospital, Haywards Heath (PRH)
  • Sussex Eye Hospital, Brighton (SEH)
  • Royal Alexandra Children’s Hospital, Brighton (RACH)
  • St Richard’s Hospital, Chichester (SRH)
  • Southlands Hospital, Shoreham-by-Sea
  • Worthing Hospital, Worthing (WHG)

We also provide services at a number of satellite locations.


The 3Ts hospital redevelopment project is currently underway at Brighton.

On completion it will provide state-of-the-art accommodation for more than 40 wards and departments. The three-stage project will improve patient experience across its services and will support the Trust’s role as a distric general hospital, specialist tertiary centre, teaching hub and major trauma centre.